top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureI Liv For Style

October 2020 Atlanta Apparel Market Recap! For Swatch by AMDA

It was exhilarating to be a part of the first Apparel trade show at AmericasMart since the pandemic started. I have had multiple opportunities to work for Atlanta Apparel since the beginning of 2019. Market this past October was one of my favorite times to be there for reasons I will discuss further. I enjoyed being one of two Apparel Personal Assistants to the Atlanta Apparel Creative Director for the second time during the market week.


Duties I fulfilled during the market included:


1. Scouting all the active floors of the building for pieces to add to a digital look book

The other Personal Assistant and I had the pleasure to accompany Mireille Beckwith, an Atlanta Wardrobe Stylist and founder of City Peach blog, on her mission to put together forty different outfits for the digital look book. Mireille valued our opinions and was a pleasure to work alongside. I think her style is fun and unique and all the shows she styles for Atlanta Apparel are incredible. The finished look book's video is forwarded to all buyers that attended and the exhibitors who participated.

During my internship this past summer, I worked with the other PA, and together we came up with ways to digitally promote the brands that attend AmericasMart. We had an idea similar to a digital look book, so it was extraordinary to see our vision come to life. 


This is the background used for the digital look book.


2. Assisting in dressing models during the filming of the look book 

Backstage before the shoot begins the other PAs and I were responsible for dressing at least one model each. Even though it was not a live show requiring us to speed up, models had to change quickly; every item has to be placed back in the correct bag as well. 


Models dressed and ready for the shoot!


3. Picking up and returning the garments to the correct temporary booth or showroom 

After the shoot is over, we must double-check that every garment is hung on the right hanger or bag; the garments are then returned to the correct showroom or booth. The PAs divide and conquer these tasks to return the merchandise across eleven different floors. 



This image is of the final looks in order for the digital look book shoot. Mireille, the Creative Director of Atlanta Apparel, myself, the Fashion Office Staff, and the other Personal Assistants all worked together to create the looks!


It is always such a pleasure to return to AmericasMart, year after year. I began my journey with the mart when I was selected back in 2019 to serve as an Atlanta Apparel Brand Ambassador,  also known as "The Peaches." During this mart I met and learned from many buyers and exhibitors that regularly attend the Apparel shows. I also enjoyed wearing and learning about the different brands we represented daily. In August of 2019, I served as a Personal Assistant for the first time and had the pleasure to help with the annual World of Prom runway show by dressing models backstage. That was a very memorable market experience as well, and I met another apparel student a little older than me that I still keep in touch with. Last summer, I was one of two interns for the Creative Director at Atlanta Apparel. Due to Covid-19, we worked remotely because there was no way to be in the office and have in-person trade shows. We still completed valuable tasks, and I had the pleasure to virtually meet many AmericasMart employees that I hadn't met before. I always enjoy this experience, and it was great to return to AmericasMart this past October to reconnect with old friends and co-workers. 


3 views0 comments
bottom of page