top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureI Liv For Style

What I Learned About Sustainable Fashion During a Global Pandemic! For Swatch by AMDA


When I arrived in Dallas in late February from studying abroad, I had an entirely new perspective of the fashion industry. I realized there was a part of it that I hadn't given enough attention to, including the notion that sustainability is labeled as a "trend". Throughout my research this past summer in quarantine, I came to a different realization. I have come to understand that sustainable fashion is about how products and items are made from environmentally friendly materials and the people involved in the garment’s process are treated right. This includes from the first manufacturing step until the item arrives home with the consumer. Sustainability does not simply involve the physical materials that make up an item; it is essential that the workers and everyone involved in the product is cared for before it reaches the final consumer.

I expanded my knowledge about sustainability through a class I took with a foundation called Fashion Revolution, a group that raises awareness via website, social media, campus ambassadors, and educational resources. The mission of Fashion Revolution, according to founder and creative director Orsola de Castro, is to “unite the fashion industry and ignite a revolution to radically change the way our clothes are sourced, produced & purchased.” Their most recent campaign is #WhoMadeMyClothes. The hashtag sparked a significant following on social media, and I have even heard it mentioned by speakers at sustainability webinars I have recently attended. One of my favorite yearly projects Fashion Revolution produces is The Fashion Transparency Index, researching well-known brands and retailers to create an index that rates each company's sustainability practices.



The next organization I would like to mention is Fashinnovation NYC. They are an awareness media company similar to Fashion Revolution. Their mission is to be a “global platform that connects innovators to create positive change in the fashion industry by ways of technology.” Fashinnovation NYC is known for hosting excellent webinars known as World Wide Talks. Advocates, designers, executives, retailers, authors, and other professionals who voice sustainability attend.


I urge all students interested in the fashion industry to do the research before purchasing. Fashion Revolution and other companies such as The Business of Fashion, Fashion Scholarship Fund, Fashion for Good, Vogue Business, and Eventbrite offer numerous resources for students to learn about sustainability in fashion and retail. These talks preach that even the smallest steps towards sustainability are worthwhile. As further motivation, future employers will be looking for applicants with an understanding of sustainability. Sustainable fashion is on the horizon, so I recommend joining the conversation now.


8 views0 comments
bottom of page